I feel like there’s a vacuum in my chest

Today we’re leaving Murchison Falls and travelling to Kampala for a debriefing. We’ll be leaving Uganda in two days and I’m starting to feel like there’s a vacuum in my chest. Don’t get me wrong, I love my life in Vancouver. But that life is waiting for me, whereas this experience isn’t likely to ever come again, and I’m fighting feeling pretty sad.

I’ll miss my new friends most of all. I’ll miss the scenery, the climate, and the sense of purpose this mission gave all of us. I’ll miss meeting Ugandans and hearing their stories, and the smiles of the children whose pictures we took. I’ll miss eating so little that I’m losing weight rapidly.

I won’t miss wearing this hot, sticky silk skirt. When I get to the Speke Hotel tonight I’m retrieving my western clothes from my other suitcase.

Anyway, that’s enough of my depressing feelings. How about I change the subject and show you some pictures of the awesome safari and Nile cruise we went on yesterday? I’ll start with a picture of a police officer I met in Democratic Republic of the Congo (an ebony-and-ivory shot for sure).

Deb and a police officer from Democratic Republic of the Congo

Deb and a police officer from Democratic Republic of the Congo

Giraffes at Murchison Falls

Giraffes at Murchison Falls

Sunrise over the safari park

Sunrise over the safari park

Hippos on the Nile

Hippos on the Nile

Elephants on the Nile

Elephants on the Nile

6 thoughts on “I feel like there’s a vacuum in my chest

  1. Africa changed my life and how I saw things – it’s so cool to see how it’s changing you. Glad you’re enjoying. Don’t be sad – you’ll carry all of the experience with you from now on, and that’s just so lucky!

  2. Hi Deborah, you have written exactly about uganda and am impressed by your article. It really reflects the true uganda. We thought nothing good can be written about my country. You have changed many lifes in uganda. Am augandan from eastern uganda which you did not visit. I would like to get to you more. Please write to me on. osoarobert85@gmail.com.

  3. Deb, I’ve read your article for The Province, and I’m enjoying reading your blogs. Your perspective is fresh and original so makes for captivating reading, thank you.

Leave a Reply

